Everyday Small Things

Face ya Food (New Foodelicous Feature): Introducing Francis

Leave a comment

 

I would like to introduce an incredible friend of mine who is going to do a regular recipe feature on EverydaySmallThings.  She has so much energy and I find her whole approach to holistic health really inspiring.  Try out her recipes and give us feedback – we’d love to hear if you love them as much as we do.  I could go on, but I think she can introduce herself…bio pic

I’m Frances, a lover of many conflicting things – food and fitness, eating thrifty but eating well, shopping local but eating around the world, and of course all baked things but not the muffin-top that goes with them…

Thanks to a terrifyingly wholesome upbringing, a chronic incapacity for sitting still for longer than an episode of Arrested Development and a strong stingy streak, I got into cooking. And thanks to the best purchase of my life – my first London bike – I got into fitness. The gym came next, and, inevitably, reviewing and revising my diet.

I’m lucky (and I know it!) because aside from not really liking milk,  I have no real diet issues – I’ll eat pretty much anything, but while I don’t adhere to any particular eating plan, I usually choose to cook healthy. And with friends who run the range of allergies and food preferences, I’ve also learned a fair bit about cooking (and baking!) around people’s diets.

Basically, it’s a challenge, and it’s fun. Face your food. Try to make it better. Bake with beans. Experiment with egg substitutes. Pack protein into a breakfast muffin and bring a spare to work for a friend who didn’t have time for breakfast. Eat treats that will actually do you good. Happy days.

Author: Everyday Small Things by KT

An Aussie living in the UK - reminding herself of all the precious moments each day that do actually bring joy and a smile to her face! Please share your story with me too... x KT

Leave a comment