Everyday Small Things

Healthy, Happy, Strong: Fitness Freak

1 Comment

Today I am resetting some Fitness goals.  Getting my Fitness Freak back on!

Where am I now?  A year ago I was Cross Fitting everyday at a great box (that’s a Cross Fit gym folks) called Hertford CrossFitCrossfit Hope July 3Prior to that my headaches/migraines were so severe that I couldn’t even walk around the block without making them worse (I’ll go into that story another day).  So I’d worked really hard to get to a reasonable level of fitness and probably the strongest I’d ever been.  Then I got a new teaching job in inner London which was really difficult.  Not so much because the teaching or students were difficult, but because I had just been without my support network for too many years in the UK.  And all the great friends I had made were up north in the midlands.  Getting to the gym was just adding additional stress and guilt (when I wouldn’t get there after work as had work to do or was just so physically exhausted).  I was cracking pretty badly and it was really affecting my work.  In fact for the first time in my life I was having quite a bit of time off.  So I made the executive decision to just not stress about exercise and stop going.

Then my knee cracked it.  It said (if you speak knee (that’s primarily grinding and crunching) as I have learned to do since I hit puberty), “Katrina, you’ve worked so bloody hard to get me strong again, and now this… you just stop strengthening me?!  Well I quit!”  The physio listened to my knee, went white and told me to stop running and squatting.  Great!  Slowly I lost interest in my physio exercises…

…so here I am.  Not quite the most unfit I’ve ever been, but just really slobbish and unmotivated.  Every time I decide to do some form of fitness, if I don’t get straight to it that moment, my mind kicks in builds this wall of worry and excuses.  I think I am worried that I’ll fail again at realising my goals.  Yet I love sport and fitness.  I’ve won rowing races and represented my state playing soccer for goodness sake.  I am at heart a Fitness Freak – just dying to get back on it!

Shoes runners 130516 Merri CreekBrunswick velodrome 2 Merri Creek view Merri Creek graffiti Merri Creek Grevilea Run clouds Merri creek path Merri Creek Shadow

I’ve lost a lot of sleep feeling guilty over failing at lots of attempts to get my Fitness Freak back on – but in reality having not coped with isolation, loneliness and hating my job in the UK for the past couple of years it is not surprising I’ve failed so much.

But that’s fine.  I have the time now and the opportunity to…

…just get off the couch!

Where do I want to be? 

  • I will be able to do triathlons.
  • I will be able to join a hockey club.
  • I will be able to become a Pilates instructor.
  • I will be able to do crazy yoga poses.
  • I will be able to get back to Cross Fit.

What are the goals I am setting today?

  1. Set realistic goals – I haven’t done this in the past if I really take into account living a busy lifestyle and not being one of those people with boundless ends of energy.
  2. Be kind to my body – take it slow.
  3. Do 10 minutes of Physio everyday because it does actually work!  I know because when I stop all my problems (e.g. talkative knees) come flooding back.
  4. Run a mile a day Challenge.  I like the idea of short little challenges as a way of focusing myself.  I’m not able to run far on my knees, so I’m not interested in time or distance.  I’m interested in getting out there and keeping my form.  Short strides to protect my knees and listen to them.  Bless them they are weak because I have not listened to them for ages.  So knees… I’m listening now!

So that’s it for now.  I was going to write down about three more challenges… but then I referred back to point one!

I just went for my first Mile a Day Challenge – and the Melbourne weather was just great!  I got back on my old running track here in Melbourne along the Merri Creek.  And I must make a big shout out to the Friends of Merri Creek gang… gosh it’s come along!  Just a beautiful 45 mins.

I’ve popped in some of the sights from today!  And the smells:  Snags on the BBQ at Ceres, Stringy bark (eucalyptus trees), Ironing, and fresh clean air!

Brunswick VelodromeBrunswick Velodrome

What are your fitness goals?  How do you get your Fitness Freak on?  How have you overcome getting in a fitness rut?

Author: Everyday Small Things by KT

An Aussie living in the UK - reminding herself of all the precious moments each day that do actually bring joy and a smile to her face! Please share your story with me too... x KT

One thought on “Healthy, Happy, Strong: Fitness Freak

  1. Pingback: Weekly goal setting & Reflections | Everyday Small Things

Leave a Reply

