Everyday Small Things

Everyday Small Things: Rainy days

Leave a comment

wpid-DSC_0449_20130514161922994.jpg

Today the weather is miserable outside.  The first of the winter cold is setting in here in Melbourne.  I’ve come back to Australia wpid-DSC_0436.jpgfor a short holiday to see friends and family – just what the doctor ordered!  So it has been a very emotional but nourishing trip for me right now.  And somehow the rain today feels right.  Like it is washing away the dust… ready for a fresh, new beginning.  I have a rare day to myself and it is so nice to be snuggly by the window that I can peer out of reflecting!

I went out for breakfast with a new friend and as soon as I stepped outside I was hit with the comforting smell of Australia after the rain.  I smelt:

  • seaweed – argh yes I am close to the ocean again (a place you’ll hear me talk a lot about…) as I’ve always lived inland in the UK and seriously miss  it
  • Gum tree (Eucalyptus) – yep.. I must be back in Oz!
  • I didn’t smell car fumes 🙂
  • I didn’t smell ‘city’ – the earth must be being cleaned.

We walked to a new cafe around the corner.  It is so nice to see new cafes popping up here in Brunswick, but the oldies are still being supported and have hung around!  Today we went to East Elevation and sat in the window getting to know each other and contemplating the world.  They make chocolate there and we saw a girl meticulously sorting through cocoa beans – so of course I had to buy some of their chocolate (we’re going to see if you really can taste the difference between chocolates from different countries tonight… so I’ll keep you posted!).  The coffee was perfect too!  Yum!  Once our tummies were full, out we went.. and the rain had started to bucket down!

wpid-DSC_0476.jpg wpid-DSC_0478.jpg wpid-DSC_0482.jpg

Luckily I had bought my trusty umbrella.  I’ve often wondered what he’d say if he could say anything at all.. as I got him back in 2008 when I first arrived in the UK – so he’s travelled all over with me.  I paid to much for him (£12 from Marks and Spencer), but I needed the colour he bought in my life.  He’s getting to the end of his life now.. rusting.. not 100% waterproof any more… saggy… but he’s not down and out yet.

We then had a look in a new shop nearby which supports local designers.  I couldn’t help myself.  I have been looking for a cute new little purse for ages… and this little purse by Utopia Goods has an Australian print so it had to be mine.  I also have a real affection for olive oil soaps as I find normal soap too harsh for my skin and travelling with liquid soap just annoying.  And these Soaps by Jules have real Aussie flavours which just seemed so fitting today with the rainy, earth, aussie smells!  My justification for getting them:  they’ll provide a little moment each UK morning in the shower to remember home AND if you keep them in your clothes draws your clothes will smell amazing!

wpid-DSC_0473.jpg wpid-DSC_0472.jpg wpid-DSC_0474.jpg

Another bonus of rainy days is that I don’t feel guilty for not going for a run.  But as I write this the scene outside has turned from torrential rain to gorgeous Autumnal afternoon glow.  Hmmm…  Nope it is bucketing down and the sun is shining… ?!  yes yes it is :S

What do you love about rainy days?

Author: Everyday Small Things by KT

An Aussie living in the UK - reminding herself of all the precious moments each day that do actually bring joy and a smile to her face! Please share your story with me too... x KT

Leave a Reply

